About Me

Traveler, Blogger, Cook

Cooking flavorful food has been a passion of mine for years, but it wasn’t always that way.  Have you ever thought you were terrible at something and later realized you actually had a talent for it? That’s what happened to me. I went from being a newlywed at 18 and only knowing how to boil water, to getting paid to cook as a self-taught personal chef with a successful business.  My journey as a self-taught cook, unsatisfied with meals made by adding water to pouches of powdery food, started by cooking recipes I found on websites like the Food Network.  And not long after that, I was creating my own recipes and improving existing recipes.  

Now with my little family, I travel full time in an RV, cook and create recipes in different locations and climates using solar power and propane.  We sold our 5,000 sq. ft. dream house of 8 years with a large gourmet kitchen, in search of a lifestyle of beautiful experiences rather than having beautiful belongings. But cooking in a small space with a very small RV oven that runs on propane has had its challenges (if you have one, you know what I mean ha-ha).  But I am here to say that delicious food can be made in an RV kitchen or any kitchen.

My favorite kind of food to eat and cook is Italian. But I think part of why Italian food is my favorite is because I am ¼ Italian from my mom’s side. Italian food is in my bones.  Some of my other favorite things are mountain biking, road biking, and hiking. I will make any excuse to be outside.  In fact, I like to cook outside with our “outdoor kitchen” attached to our RV.  

In The Traveling Cook blog, I will share my family’s favorite recipes with you, and you will see a little of our life in the RV as we travel, explore, and create memories.  I hope you enjoy sharing this journey with us.

Meet My Family

I’m Stephanie, a 40 something mother of two miracle babies Ryder and Charley. And to boot I'm married to my dream guy. My family are great supporters of me as my tasting staff ;). Ryder is 4 and Charley is 2, and they both love helping me bake. They also love seeing new places and exploring as we travel in our RV. They always find adventures wherever we go and love being outside as much as I do.

start here

My Favorite Posts

Follow My Journey